top of page


We currently have 5 women’s teams ranging from England Hockey's National Vitality Conference North league, and Men’s 1's in North Division 1. through North West Div's 1, 2S, 3, 4W to

North West 5WN.

On the Men’s side we have 3 teams North West:  Div 1, Div 4 West and Div 5 West. 

We also enter teams in the women’s North indoor qualifiers, EH Adult cup competitions, Over 35 Women and friendly summer leagues.

Our junior section is thriving and growing, we’re always welcoming new members who want to have some fun, meet new friends and get active.


Men’s Hockey

The men formed as The Blantyre Recreation Club in 1885. In 1889 its name was changed to Sefton Hockey Club because of its association with Sefton Park.

Sefton was one of the founder members of the Lancashire County Hockey Association when it formed in 1889 and is the only original club still playing. It is therefore the oldest club in Lancashire and also the North of England since Lancashire was the first county association formed.

As with the women, the club has been itinerant with grounds successively behind the Brook House Public House, Sefton Park, Wavertree Recreation Club, Huyton Cricket Club, Broadgreen, Huyton again, Stoneycroft, Huyton Cricket Club, Liverpool Cricket Club, Huyton Cricket Club, Liverpool Cricket Club and now Liverpool College.


Women’s Hockey

The Women’s section was formed in 1894 as Liverpool Ladies and actually started life playing at Liverpool Cricket Club. It is the oldest women’s club in the north and one of the six founder members of the now defunct All England Women’s Hockey Association.

It moved from Liverpool Cricket Club in 1925 to various grounds before settling n the hallowed turf of the Old Hall in Sandfield Park. They left the Old Hall and again played at a series of grounds before returning to Liverpool Cricket Club when it merged with Liverpool Sefton Hockey Club in 1997.

With the advent of astro turf pitches the Club commenced playing at Liverpool College but retained Liverpool Cricket Club as its base until 2018. At this point it became an independent not for profit company and a Community Amateur Sports Club, basing itself socially at Aigburth Peoples Hall.

The present Women's section consists of numerous County, Regional, Ex Junior Regional and Ex Junior International Players. 

Following a successful season the Ladies 1's achieved promotion to the North National League. Pleasingly they also won through to England Hockey's Tier 2 Cup Final where they achieved the silver medal.

Recent Representation:

County Women - Lancashire - Jane Bazley Harrison - Sarah Bazley Harrison - Chelsea Daley - Anna Hollis
Kara McDougall - Jen Ratcliffe (GK) - Lauren Thompson

N/W Over 50's Squad - Tom Knight

N/W Over 55's Squad - Peter Todd

England Indoor International Over 55's Squad - Peter Todd

bottom of page